My Baptism

baptism-picture-4-14-2013

2Cor5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

On the 8th March 2014, I got baptised at the Northend swimming bath. It was amazing and I would like to thank the River of Life family for their outstanding support during this ,milestone in my life.

I first had to undergo baptism lessons whereby we were taught what baptism really means and what it implies.  Baptism is the start of a new life which will bring you great joy. It will give your life a renewed purpose. In an uncertain world, the God of Peace will give you peace.He is Jehovah Shalom – the God of peace.

For Christians, baptism represents the believer following Christ into His death, burial, and resurrection. The symbolism is perfect and filled with deep meaning. In baptism, the eyes are closed, the hands are folded, and breath is suspended as in death — if only for a moment. Then comes burial in the water; then resurrection from the watery grave to a new life in Christ. When raised from the water, the eyes open and breathing begins again. It’s a likeness of the resurrection.

Jesus when he resurfaced after the incident at the temple, he showed up to John the baptist to get baptised. He says in his Word that he is the way, the truth and the light. He set an example when he got baptised and we should follow suit. We are Christians meaning that we are Christ-like. Baptism is mandatory as a believer.

Can you imagine a man being accepted into the army of any country, if he refused to obey the orders of the Commander-in-Chief? Jesus Christ, the Christian Leader, said, “If you love me you will obey my command” (John 14:15). He also said, “Those who believe it (the gospel – the good news of his teaching) and receive baptism will be saved” (Mark 16:16). We must take Jesus at his word if we want to be accepted by him.

Mark 16:16

He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.

Peter tells us, in Acts 2 and 3, that we must take five steps to salvation. They are:

 

  1. Believe in Jesus Christ and his message.
  2. Repent (have a change of mind, realising that we need God and His forgiveness).
  3. Be converted (turn round and walk towards God).
  4. Obey Jesus by having our sins washed away in baptism.
  5. Continue faithfully in God’s way (Acts 2:27-42; 3:18-21).

God always keeps His promises. He will never let us down. As Jesus said, “No one can snatch them out of the Father’s care” (John 10:29).

For me it was really fun and games until I was held underwater. I was so scared and cold. And I didn’t have the heavens open up and the Holy Spirit come upon me in the form of the dove but to me I know that something in me changed because the God i serve doesn’t lie. All the blessings that come with baptism I have already received and the heavens have smiled upon me.

Thank you LORD.

Date – 13/03/14

Mood – Happy

Dedication – Oh Happy Day – Benjamin Dube

Published by

akelibone

Pre-ordained before the foundations of the earth. Set apart.Saved by his amazing grace. I continue to grow from glory to glory. In this world but not of this world. I am the light of the world. A city set upon a hill. I'm like a tree planted by the rivers of water bringing forth fruit in each season, my leaves also shall not wither.

Leave a Reply

