Friends or Foes?

 

Image

 

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.John 15:13

 

Friendship is a beautiful thing. The Lord has blessed me with amazing friends that love and worship him. But this hasn’t always been the case, befo

re being born again I had all kinds of friends. I was actually allergic to being alone. I could not stand the silence. As I got into the scripture, I realised that what I was actually missing was an intimate relationship with Christ. The bible doesn’t say don’t have friends but you will realise that everytime someone in the bible encountered God, they were alone. Salvation is not a group effort, it’s a personal journey and when you embark on it, you must be ready to prune the friend tree. The word cautions us about the kind of people we keep around us, it says,

Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”1 Corinthians 15:33

 

Everybody you meet can either add something to your life or subtract from your life. A true friend will never draw you away from the beliefs that you have. They say ‘birds of a feather flock together’ and this is very true. There’s a quote that says, “Show me your friends and I will tell you your character.” Today, when you look at your friends, are you proud to be associated with them? Are they an accurate reflection of who you are? Do they support you in your walk with Christ? The bible says that in times of need, we must pray for one another when they have faultered. It’s never easy to approach a total stranger, you’d need a friend that understands the Word and can carry you through in prayer.

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.Proverbs 27:17

Job 2:11 Now when Job’s three friends heard of all this evil that had come upon him, they came each from his own place, Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite. They made an appointment together to come to show him sympathy and comfort him.

 

Man has never been an island. It is impossible to try. I never understood why my mother tried so hard to always filter out my friends when I was young, looking back now in retrospect she made a good call. No judgment or anything like that but where those friends were going and where they are now is not what I had planned for my life. We all make decisions and for them that kind of life may be okay but I want more for myself. And honestly, when people want different things they will always clash. Watch what the bible says about how people must agree in order to walk together.

Can two people walk together without agreeing on the direction? Amos 3:3

 

My hope for you today is that you find friends that guide you to where God wants you to be. Friends that enccourage you to be the best version of yourself. Friends that are filled with the wisdom of God from his word. May God bless you with friends like mine, who know without being told when I’m in dire need of prayer. May you realise that your best friend can be Jesus Christ and that he will never reject you nor forsake you.

Date- 17/03/2014

Mood – Blessed

Dedication – Solly Mahlangu – Wahamba nathi

 

Baruch Hashem Adonai

 

Published by

akelibone

Pre-ordained before the foundations of the earth. Set apart.Saved by his amazing grace. I continue to grow from glory to glory. In this world but not of this world. I am the light of the world. A city set upon a hill. I'm like a tree planted by the rivers of water bringing forth fruit in each season, my leaves also shall not wither.

Leave a Reply

