Planning, Planning, Planning!

Isaiah-55-8-9For which of you, intending to build a tower, sitteth not down first, and counteth the cost, whether he have sufficient to finish it? Lest haply, after he hath laid the foundation, and is not able to finish it, all that behold it begin to mock him, Luke 14:28-29

As I turn 25 later on this year, I have been thinking about my life as a whole trying to take stock of how far along I am in the grand ‘plan.’ Well, I finish my degree this year (Glory be to God!) and the question now is “What’s next?” Planning is very important. I take it a little overboard with my obsessive compulsive tendencies but planning is what got me this far. The Word of God says,

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts Isaiah 55:8-9

God says my plans are not your plans. I learnt this lesson the hard way. Even Jonah would laugh at me. The world has set standards of how your life should go. By now I must be married and expecting a child. I’m seeing wedding bells all around me and it’s so easy to get pulled in to something you don’t want to do. In high-school they called it peer pressure. I’m glad that I have the support of my parents who continually propel me forward to excel in my studies. Growing up in a patriarchal society like I did, I know marriage right now will throw a spanner in the works. I want to use my degree, I want to travel and I want to find out who I am as an individual before inviting somebody else in to this party of one.

The bible says that before we are married, our main mandate to seek the Lord and serve him and that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

There is difference also between the wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman careth for the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit: but she that is married careth for the things of the world, how she may please her husband.1Corinthians 7:34

I think the high divorce rates nowadays are mainly attributed to the convenient marriages people enter to fulfil the norms outlined by society. Some women lose patience and settle for the first man that makes an offer. That wedding ring should mean something, it’s a sacred covenant between the two of you in front of God. Getting married too quickly and getting to know each other already in the marriage may prove disastrous. I digress. But my plan, God-willing, is to seek him more. I want to know his will and purpose for my life. I don’t want to stray from the path he has set out for me, The bible says,

“ The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his ways Psalms 37:23

illustration-your-way-my-way-street-signs

My hope for you is that you may succumb to the will of God for your life. I pray that you may abandon your plans and hearken to his plans for you. Don’t spend your life in the whale because the world has told you what your life should look like. Let God take first place in your life. Let him take you from strength to strength. All he wants to do is make you prosper. He will ask for the impossible from you but he will make it possible. We serve a good and faithful God.

Date – 18/03/2014

Mood – Contemplating

Dedication –4Him – Hands and feet, Michael W. Smith – I surrender all

Baruch hashem Adonai

Published by

akelibone

Pre-ordained before the foundations of the earth. Set apart.Saved by his amazing grace. I continue to grow from glory to glory. In this world but not of this world. I am the light of the world. A city set upon a hill. I'm like a tree planted by the rivers of water bringing forth fruit in each season, my leaves also shall not wither.

Leave a Reply

