If you have nothing nice to say…

ImageThe words of a talebearer are as wounds, and they go down into the innermost parts of the belly. Proverbs 18:8

 

I have been watching the state of affairs amongst my classmates and I am inspired to address this issue. As people, we say so many things that are harmful to other people and we don’t realise that we are destroying those people. The adage they told us in pre-school was a lie, “Sticks and stones my break my bones, but nothing you say will hurt me.” You see, physical pain can heal but the vicious words uttered against you go into the innermost parts of the belly and they are hard to heal. You can try to laugh it off but deep inside you would have been wounded. This is where insecurities stem from. But this message isn’t for the victims of slander and gossip, it is for the perpetrators of such things. What they need to realise is that, gossips have deep-rooted issues inside of them. They need to find Jesus Christ and be rooted and grounded in love.

 

A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh Luke 6:45

 

I can’t squeeze the toothpaste and expect ice-cream to come out. In the same way, we can’t expect nice things to come out of bad places. Think before you spread vicious gossip, what does this say about me? What will I gain from saying this terrible thing? How would I feel if people were saying this about me? Take the time to just compliment another person instead. Just walk up to them and build them up. Let your words make somebody else’s day. Many people think I’m out of my mind. Just the other day, I was packed like a sardine in an Ipsum on my way to school and this girl’s elbow was stabbing my rib, I really wanted to say, “Nkazana, you might as well pay me 6 rand because I’m the one you are sitting on,” but instead I said, “You smell very nice, what’ the name of your perfume?” and her and I have been friends ever since.

 

Not that which goeth into the mouth defileth a man; but that which cometh out of the mouth, this defileth a man. Matthew 15:11

 

ImageMy hope for you today is that you may be a good-news messenger. May you bring encouragement and joy wherever you are. When you feel the need to say something awful about another person, realise that it’s a reflection of you as a person. When the urge comes over you to blurt out hurtful things, just decide to say something nice instead. Don’t focus on the bad aspects of people to try and hide your own insecurities. We have all had terrible things said about us and today let us go to God and ask him to heal us. He is Jehovah Rapha – our healer. Do unto others as you would like them to do unto you. If you are brave enough, take the time to apologise to the people you hurt with your words. With social networks, I know you can reach out to those people. God bless you.

 

Date – 20/03/14

 

Mood – Enlightened

 

Dedication – Benjamin Dube – Phindukhulume, Michael W Smith – Healing rain

 

Baruch hashem Adonai

 

Leave a Reply

