The ‘F’ word…Forgiveness

Image

And when ye stand praying, forgive, if ye have ought against any: that your Father also which is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses. But if you do not forgive, neither will your father which is in heaven forgive your trespasses Mark 11:25-26

This hasn’t been easy for me, been through so much and I have been too afraid to explore all the things in my life that need forgiving. I have always been a suppressor, when something happens, I just suppress and pretend it didn’t hurt. But I wasn’t doing anybody a favour, not even myself. Now that I’m baptised, I have got to let go of all that baggage. I am in Christ, old things are passed away and behold all things are made new. This includes all the bitterness and resentment that I have harboured for so long.

Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger , and clamour , and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: Ephesians 4:31

They say unforgiveness is like drinking poison and expecting the person that you are mad at to die instead. Unforgiveness is a self-made prison. The same way freedom is a choice. You don’t need the other party to come and apologise so that you can forgive them, you can choose to forgive them and let it go and continue with your life. It’s for your own good.

Behold, for peace I had great bitterness: but thou hast in love to my soul delivered it from the pit of corruption: for thou hast cast all my sins behind thy back Isaiah 38:17

Image

God knows how many times I have needed his forgiveness and when I think about it, forgiving mankind is a small price to pay. Some of the stuff that we are holding onto are hindering all the things we need from coming to us. God forgives me when have forgiven others and when I pray with a clean heart he gives me whatsoever I desire according to his will.

And behold, they brought to him a man sick of the palsy, lying on a bed: and Jesus seeing their faith said unto the sick of the palsy; Son, be of good cheer; thy sins be forgiven thee Matthew 9:2

Imagine if the man sick with palsy had unforgiveness issues and because of them he would have missed his opportunity for healing from our Lord and saviour. Forgiveness is never easy but the Lord says his strength is made perfect in our weaknesses, ask God to help you let go of all your pain, his grace is sufficient for you. He will heal your heart and fill you with his perfect love. If you had strayed and you need his forgiveness, he is ready to forgive you. Just confess your sins to him and repent of them. We serve a God that is love.

To the lord our god belong mercies and forgivenesses, though we have rebelled against him; Daniel 9:9

Question: How many times must we forgive those that trespass against us?

Answer: Matthew 18:21-22

Date : 21/03/2014

Mood : Nostalgic

Dedication : Deborah – Ngikuxolele, Deitrick Haddon – Forgiven

Baruch hashem Adonai

Published by

akelibone

Pre-ordained before the foundations of the earth. Set apart.Saved by his amazing grace. I continue to grow from glory to glory. In this world but not of this world. I am the light of the world. A city set upon a hill. I'm like a tree planted by the rivers of water bringing forth fruit in each season, my leaves also shall not wither.

Leave a Reply

