I’ll give you my dirty lil’ secret

Image

 

Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. James 5:16

I was listening to a sermon by Juanita Bynum entitled ‘No more sheets,’ and basically it was about the consequences of fornication. In that sermon she said things that I really didn’t expect and those were things she, herself, wasn’t ready to part with. We all have deep, dark secrets that we are so ashamed of that we wouldn’t dare tell another person. These secrets are so mortifying that you cannot even re-live them in your mind. These secrets are unnecessary baggage and it’s time to let them go. Find somebody you trust and feel comfortable with and get it off your chest. Let them pray with you to find peace, freedom and joy, which is only found at the cross.

 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John1:9

But we serve a God who sees, Jehovah El Roi. He saw everything that you did and guess what, He still loves you. Usually when we wrong him we want to hide in the trees like Adam and Eve but Christ died so that our sins may be forgiven. All you need to do is confess and repent. Don’t let condemnation hold you hostage. We are no longer condemned, we can live life more abundantly. The bible says all sin is sin, there’s no bigger sin than another sin. If I kill and you tell a white lie, it’s all the same. Don’t think that what you did is so dirty that God will not forgive you. His love is unconditional, he doesn’t just love you when you are good. He loves you every minute, every second, he has loved you even before you were born.

He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy. Proverbs 28:13

He is the God of all flesh. He knows that we are weak and that we mess up. That doesn’t mean that when we fall into sin, we should stay there. You get up, dust yourself, confess, ask for forgiveness and repent. Don’t try pay for sins that Jesus died for on the cross.

I acknowledged my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the LORD; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah. Psalms 32:5

There are secrets in me that have held me back in my walk with Christ. I lived a life of constant self-condemnation. I would remember all the horrible things I have done and tell myself I’m not worthy of God’s love. I would stop praying and worshipping him. But that would create a void in my life and I’d turn to sin to fill that void. That would leave me emptier than before. I’d pray and it would feel like just lip-service until I started to just confess to him and repent. It really saved me all the drama.

Image

Date – 24/03/2014

Mood – Honest

Dedication – Hillsongs – I’m trading my sorrows, Michael W Smith – Grace

Baruch hashem Adonai

Leave a Reply

