Just shut up and do it!

Image

Do all things without murmuring and disputings Philippians 2:14

Every time I hear my mother’s voice calling me I start grumbling. I don’t even know what she wants yet and already in my mind I have decided I won’t like it and neither will I do it and then it turns out she just wants to give me airtime. (Ain’t that a kick in the head?) So when I came across the above scripture I thought ‘Really, there’s a scripture against complaining?’ God thinks of everything. And then I came across the following verse,

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Colossians 3:23

I have always known that you should obey your mother and father so that your days may be long but complaining every time they sent me was reflex. I’ve been doing it since I learnt how to roll my eyes. Imagine how many blessings we would miss out on because we never taught ourselves to be obedient. If you hate being sent by your earthly parents, you are not going to let God send you.

Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; Ephesians 6:5

A transformation had to happen. You see, we tend to be a rebel without a clue/cause just fighting everything. But obedience is vital to God. He wants us to have a teachable spirit. He wants to know that when he calls on us we will get up and go! I used to hate this song in primary school which said, “God loves a cheerful giver, give it all you’ve got! He loves to see you laughing when you’re in an awkward spot!”

Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver 2 Corinthians 9:7

When God asks you for something… do it with all your heart. What I have realised from the bible is that God will ask the impossible from you so that his glory shines through. Walking around a city 7 times isn’t easy, I complain about just going to open the gate at home.

If ye be willing and obedient, ye shall eat the good of the land: Isaiah 1:19

We must humble ourselves to relevant authority and follow the rules. I have found that submission is easier than rebellion, the conversation with mum ends faster than it usually did. God is sovereign, he doesn’t negotiate with you around your plans. And his plans are usually better than yours.

To bring Vashti the queen before the king with the crown royal, to shew the people and the princes her beauty: for she was fair to look on. But the queen Vashti refused to come at the king’s commandment by his chamberlains: therefore was the king very wroth, and his anger burned in him…..If it please the king, let there go a royal commandment from him….that Vashti come no more before king Ahasuerus; and let the king give her royal estate unto another that is better than she. Esther 1:11,12,19

We all know that Vashti’s disobedience led to Esther’s promotion. You can’t play hard to get with the things of God. He can replace you with a more willing candidate but he would really like you to do it. The rewards of obedience are beyond measure. Succumb to the guidance of the Holy Spirit and see where God takes you.

Image

Date – 26/03/2014

Mood – Obedient

Dedication – Benjamin Dube – Do it Lord, 4Him – Hands and Feet

Baruch hashem Adonai

 

Published by

akelibone

Pre-ordained before the foundations of the earth. Set apart.Saved by his amazing grace. I continue to grow from glory to glory. In this world but not of this world. I am the light of the world. A city set upon a hill. I'm like a tree planted by the rivers of water bringing forth fruit in each season, my leaves also shall not wither.

Leave a Reply

