Preach the word

 HPIM0269.JPGThe Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; Isiaiah 61:1

There’s nothing more fulfilling than telling people good news! Sometimes bad things happen to people all around us and the least we could do is a hug and encouraging words. What better words are there besides the words of God from the bible. God doesn’t lie and all the things he promised us in his word he will fulfill. The bible has covered every situation you can think of. My pastor likes to say that there’s nothing new you can go through under the sun and he is correct as funny as it sounds. Let the word of God encourage people. He is a comforter of the broken-hearted. Even the Holy Spirit is there to comfort us amongst other things of course. Let the one who made your heart and gave you feelings repair them when they are wounded.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

I was a little skeptical at first. I had the opportunity to witness to a friend of mine that doesn’t “want to be bound in the cage of religion.” Twas such a daunting task. I was under pressure because clearly he wasn’t interested from the get-go and I really didn’t have a clue how to react to his beliefs. So i feebly told him that Jesus loves him and that God is the only God and that his best bet was to serve him. I wasn’t impressed with my performance so I went home and prayed about it. And God showed me something;

Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” Exodus 4:10-12

I am grateful for the Holy Spirit that tells me what to say when it is required. I can’t boast and say I’m clever because I really ain’t. This is what we have all been called to do. Preaching the word helps keep me out of trouble. There’s hardly any energy left over for gossip, slander and foolish jesting.

Preach the word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage–with great patience and careful instruction. 2 Timothy 4:2

The word of shouldn’t leave our lips and our hearts. You must be ever-ready when the opportunity to preach avails itself. And if it doesn’t preach to anything. Jesus proved that trees and animals can hear the word of God. So what’s stopping you. In the beginning its tough-ish but it gets better. Paul says,

But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak Matthew 10:19

Date – 25/03/2014

Mood – Chatty Cathy

Dedication – Juanita Bynum – I will praise him


 

Leave a Reply

