My life as a tree

Image

I am the true vine, and my father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. John 15:1-2

There are many tree-related metaphors in the bible and today I want to discuss my life as a tree. The bible says that we must be rooted and grounded in love. And God is love. So God is our foundation, our source of life. Jesus however is the way, the truth and the life that connects us to God. This makes Jesus the bark of the tree and we are the branches. We cannot bear fruit by ourselves. I can only bear fruit if I live in Christ.

Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that you should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it to you. John 15:16

We are all trees and God has created us for the sole purpose of bringing forth fruit. That’s the role of a tree. Remember the story of the fig-tree that Jesus went up to to get fruit and when he realised that it didn’t have any fruit he made it wither and die? What’s the use of having something that won’t do what it was created to do? That is the same with people, those that will not bear fruit shall be cast away. It is impossible for you to be in Christ and fail to bear fruit. It’s reflex. The above verse says we have been ordained, that means we have been destined, designed, intended to bear fruit! REMEMBER what God said to Adam, “And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth,” (Genesis 1:28) Our God is an awesome God. Since the beginning of time he has had this plan for us.

But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. Galations 5:22-23

When you look at the fruit of the spirit you will realise that those are the same characteristics of God. So when we give our lives to Christ we start to display the characteristics of our maker. The one that stands out for me is love. I’m so glad that looking at my life now, God has filled me with so much love. Forgiveness comes easier for me now and I can hardly keep score of the transgressions made against me. I think peace and joy can be likened to anaesthetics. Imagine the body being cut up during an operation without anaesthetics. The peace of God is like going through the harsh realities of life sedated. Nothing can move you and nothing can shake you because God can neither be moved nor shaken.

And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. Psalms 1:3

Date – 02/04/14

Mood – In a good place

Dedication – Michael W Smith – Mighty to save, Benjamin Dube – Lord prepare me

Baruch hashem Adonai

Leave a Reply

