My parents and I

When my father and my mother forsake me then Jehovah will take me up. Psalms 27:10

I would like to say that this verse gave me comfort when my parents and I fought over my new found religion but I’d be lying. It was the worst thing to ever happen to me. I had never fought with my parents so viciously. I’m still dealing with the whiplash. It’s never easy to be cut-off by your parents but if the reason is good I assume it makes it easier. You see, parents do things out of love. I don’t regret anything that happened to me in their hands. I have always let them decide for me what to do with my life and for a while I entertained the thought that maybe just maybe I was wrong about my calling and that I shouldn’t pursue my life in the church. But I was so miserable. Everything sucked! And then I finally understood what God had told Abraham,

Now the LORD had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee: Genesis 12:1

If you brought up under the tight discipline that I was, you can understand what a mammoth task this must have been. But parents have this power over us as their children that I can’t explain. They can make us do things, sometimes those things aren’t for our benefit. God realised that this tie-that-binds is not easy to overcome and the bible says,

He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. Matthew 10:37

When I came across this verse I was really excited. It put my fears of disobedience at ease. I pursued Christ with a new vigor. When we go to Christ, its imperative to leave everything behind. Am I saying hate your parents? By no means! But Christ needs to be the number 1 love of your life. Notice how Elisha burn his oxen just before he followed Elijah. You can’t carry all your baggage to Christ. You are now a spiritual being, earthly things must now take second precedence.

And he returned back from him, and took a yoke of oxen, and slew them, and boiled their flesh with the instruments of the oxen, and gave unto the people, and they did eat. Then he arose, and went after Elijah, and ministered unto him. 1Kings 19:21

 

Date: 30/4/2014

Mood: Relieved

Dedication: Solly Mahlangu – Wahamba nathi

Baruch Hashem Adonai

Leave a Reply

