Temptations

ImageThere hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. 1 Corinthians 10:13

Life as a spirit being isn’t always hunky-dory. There is a constant war against the lusts of the flesh. For about three months now I had been talking to this guy. We live in different cities but he has come to my hometown twice. I decided in my mind that I really like him…a lot! So he says to me, “I have a girlfriend.” At this point it felt like I had been punched in the stomach. “She is pregnant.” I was seeing a bright light and a small voice calling me to come. I knew for sure that I had died from heartbreak. I deactivated my Facebook account and crawled into a hole.

They on the rock are they, which, when they hear, receive the word with joy: and these have no root, which for a while believe, and in time of temptation fall away. Luke 8:13

Weeks later. He sends me a message, “I have married her.” You’d think I had a relapse but no I did not. I wished him well and said ‘Congratulations, I’m excited for you.” I wasn’t even faking. “You can be my mistress if you want,” he said. I stood up from the computer, took two steps back, swallowed my spit and re-read the message. I had no choice but to log out.

Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: that the trial of your faith, being much more precious than that of gold which perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ: 1 Peter 1:6-7

I prayed about it because God knows how much I liked this guy. I levelled with God that I know that this ain’t smart and please, “…deliver me from temptation.” (Matthew 6:13). The next time I logged in I found messages from his account that had been sent by his wife shouting at him and me. I went to the bathroom and yelled, “BARUCH HASHEM ADONAI.” The burden of seeing this temptation through had been lifted. It was over and now he and I have cut all ties. And honestly, I wouldn’t have been able to. The spirit was willing but the flesh was weak.

Watch ye and pray, lest ye enter into temptation. The spirit is ready, but the flesh is weak. Mark 14:38

Date: 4/4/2014

Mood: Free

Dedication: Benjamin Dube – Humble yourself

Baruch Hashem Adonai

Leave a Reply

